Home > parenting > 1 year of Motherhood

1 year of Motherhood

Yep you heard (well read) that right. I have been a mother a whole year as of 5:55 this morning. That is the moment that Kenisha emerged from my extremely exhausted and pain ridden body after 22 hours of labor. Ah but what a sweet reward! She was 8lbs 13oz of perfect!

Perfect terror that is. She is smart and independent. This is not a great combination for a 1-year-old. She has been walking since she was 9 months old at somewhere toward then end of the 10th month she started running. By the 11th she was climbing the stairs and NOW she’s climbing EVERYTHING! She will push things she can climb on in front of other things to tall to climb on to make stairs and then stand on top of the tallest in her trail of objects and dance.

She has a vocabulary of about 7 or 8 words; none of which are mommy. I got excited because she said Mama and thought I was finally being acknowledged when I realized today that she is actually referring to her grandmother (all of the grandchildren call her Mummy). So here’s her list of words (in order of appearance):

  • Dada (and now Daddy)
  • bird (yes bird)
  • baba (although she never drank a bottle)
  • bye bye
  • Javoy (her cousin’s name)
  • ta (translation: Thank You)
  • mama (in reference to her granny)
  • And her latest additions: Hiiiyeee (translation: Hi) & Heyyyy

She is just too much. The cuteness factor is on extremely high lately (OK maybe I’m just excited that my baby is a genius and she is a genius).  She likes books and knows when you are not reading a familiar story right. She will get downright mad at you for saying the wrong words or saying them the wrong way. Chicka Chick ABC is her favorite (this is the abbreviate board book version of Chicka Chicka Boom Boom). She just got Millie Moo for her birthday from one of my favorite feminists Ashley. At the moment though she is much more interested in the OTHER gift that Ashley got her which was an adorable but loud drum filled with other noise makers. Thanks Ash! I wish she would have included something for the many headaches in my future. 🙂

On the 31st, Keni starts full-day daycare. I am very sad about this. I didn’t want her to have to go to daycare but we have come to a point where there is no alternative. I’m just not ready for her to go away to be taken care of by people I don’t know personally when she can’t talk and tell me what’s been going on. Call it remnants of growing up an abused child but I am just not comfortable with this whole thing. The anxiety is at bay for now but I’m not so sure how this is going to go when I have to drop her off on that first day. I’ll try to post an update.

Today we went to the aquarium and I really got to see how big she is. She was totally fascinated by the fish and otters and sea turtles. She climbed up the little step stools in front of the exhibits and pointed and “talked” about everything she was seeing. I couldn’t believe how engaged she was. We are going to have sooo much fun when she is older!

I’m not in a rush though. I survived one year of parenthood and I’m tentative about the year to come. If it’s half as exciting as this first year, I’ll have my work cut out for me and from what I hear it’s TWICE the challenge.

Happy Birthday Kenisha Elizabeth! You are the most amazing child I could have. Thanks for letting me be your mom!

And thank you God for blessing me with this wonderful little person. Help me to care for her and raise her to be an open-minded and progressive thinking woman who is fair and just and willing to fight for the fair and equitable treatment off all people.

Categories: parenting
  1. Laura D
    August 24, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    I know a family whose first child’s first word was “money.” Personally I would be fine with hearing mommy late in the game, as long as it’s not behind “money.” LOL!

  2. Claire
    December 26, 2010 at 6:19 am

    My son said helicopter before he said mummy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

